CityScope register / ScotlandEvidence first · updated 22 Oct 2026

National projects

The developments that
do not stop at council borders.

CityScope joins planning records into larger, evolving projects — while keeping direct evidence visibly separate from inference.

Source-backedInferenceEvidence + inference
Projects tracked6current public dossiers
Planning links66 source-backed
Council reach4 / 32represented / expected
Inference held apart0links needing confirmation
Lead current dossier93/100 priority · 30 Sept 2026

The national read

Neshion Energy Park

The current Section 36 consultation for Neshion Energy Park near Mossbank proposes eight turbines up to 200m, battery storage and associated infrastructure. RSPB Scotland’s response says the northern site extent overlaps Yell Sound SAC and SSSI, identifies substantial uncertainty in collision estimates for several bird species and asks for more detailed habitat, restoration and monitoring commitments. Its response also says grid and private-wire connections remain unknown. The 2026 council record lists status Unknown; no Scottish Ministers consent decision is established by the reviewed material.

Why CityScope groups it

The current Section 36 dossier and official material returned for it support an active national energy project record: eight proposed 200m turbines, battery storage, and specific RSPB concerns about bird-risk uncertainty, protected sites, habitat commitments and connection routing. The Shetland record lists status Unknown; no Scottish Ministers’ consent decision is established. Next, check for a decision and source-backed changes to connection routing, bird mitigation or secured habitat management.

Read the evidence dossier

The live register

Projects in view

6 of 6 projects match this view.

01
Development93/100 priorityactivecurrent sourcesapproved

Neshion Energy Park

The current Section 36 consultation for Neshion Energy Park near Mossbank proposes eight turbines up to 200m, battery storage and associated infrastructure. RSPB Scotland’s response says the northern site extent overlaps Yell Sound SAC and SSSI, identifies substantial uncertainty in collision estimates for several bird species and asks for more detailed habitat, restoration and monitoring commitments. Its response also says grid and private-wire connections remain unknown. The 2026 council record lists status Unknown; no Scottish Ministers consent decision is established by the reviewed material.

Evidence + inference95% confidence

The current Section 36 dossier and official material returned for it support an active national energy project record: eight proposed 200m turbines, battery storage, and specific RSPB concerns about bird-risk uncertainty, protected sites, habitat commitments and connection routing. The Shetland record lists status Unknown; no Scottish Ministers’ consent decision is established. Next, check for a decision and source-backed changes to connection routing, bird mitigation or secured habitat management.

Summary
agent inference
Claims
source bound synthesis
Applications
official records
1linked applications
1council areas
1source-backed links
0inferred links
30 Sept 2026latest update
Councils
Shetland1
Open evidence dossier1 records shown · 3 sources

Update timeline

No dated update timeline was returned.

Linked applications

Shetland2026/162/ECUCON
Consultation in relation to a Section 36 application under the Electricity Act 1989 for 8 wind turbines with a maximum tip height of 200m, battery energy storage and associated infrastructure at Neshion Energy Park.

Neshion Energy Park Land To East Of Sullom Voe Oil Terminal Mossbank Shetland

Source register

  • Evidence + inferenceShetland Islands Council’s 2026 record describes a Section 36 consultation for Neshion Energy Park near Mossbank, proposing eight turbines up to 200m with battery storage and associated infrastructure; the current record lists Status Unknown and no decision.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceRSPB Scotland’s official consultation response says the northern extent overlaps Yell Sound SAC and SSSI, reports that the applicant’s collision assessment gives uncertainty values exceeding 200–400% for several bird species, and calls for more detailed monitoring and habitat-management commitments.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceRSPB Scotland says the applicant’s environmental assessment leaves private-wire and grid connections unknown and argues they should be considered with the wind-farm proposal.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
02
Development88/100 priorityactivecurrent sourcesapproved

Forsinain Forest wind farm

Highland's current record describes a 40-year wind-farm proposal with up to 12 turbines (10 up to 219m tip height and two up to 206m) and says the Energy Consents Unit will determine it; the case remains Under Consideration with no decision. A public objection retrieved this turn argues that visual and landscape effects, the grid connection's scope and cumulative bird impacts need fuller consideration. Those are the submitter's concerns, not council findings; the partial document fetch does not establish the total number of responses or any impact determination.

Evidence + inference91% confidence

Revised the same project key after independent review rejected an earlier unsupported Forestry Team claim. Removed that claim and retained only current dossier facts plus the matched public objection retrieved in this turn. Research was partial: one four-page submission was fetched and the official summary extraction returned navigation/status-help text. No consent, full response count or verified environmental impact is established. Next action: track formal ECU decisions and later official consultation evidence, including the grid-connection scope.

Summary
agent inference
Claims
source bound synthesis
Applications
official records
1linked applications
1council areas
1source-backed links
0inferred links
1 Oct 2026latest update
Councils
Highland1
Open evidence dossier1 records shown · 3 sources

Update timeline

No dated update timeline was returned.

Linked applications

Highland26/03769/S36
Forsinain Forest Wind Farm - Erection and operation of a wind farm for a period of 40 years, comprising up to 12 wind turbines (10 with a maximum blade tip height of 219m, 2 with a maximum blade tip height of 206m) access tracks, borrow pits, substation, control building, anemometer mast, and ancillary infrastructure. This case will be determined by the Energy Consents Unit. Please visit Energy Consents Unit at https://www.energyconsents.scot/ApplicationSearch.aspx?T=2 using reference number ECU00004935.

Land 2400M SE Of Forsinain Forsinard

Source register

  • Evidence + inferenceHighland's current record describes a 40-year wind-farm proposal with up to 12 turbines: 10 with maximum tip heights of 219m and two of 206m, plus associated tracks and infrastructure.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceThe current dossier records the case as Under Consideration, states that the Energy Consents Unit will determine it, and has no decision.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceOfficial-source research this turn matched the application reference and retrieved a four-page public objection. The submitter argues that visual and landscape effects, the grid connection's scope and cumulative bird impacts need fuller consideration; these are the submitter's views, not council findings.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
03
Development88/100 priorityactivecurrent sourcesapproved

Riccarton AI data-centre campus

A proposed 200 MW AI data-centre campus north of Research Avenue in Riccarton would occupy a 24-hectare agricultural field in the Green Belt and Gogar Special Landscape Area, according to Edinburgh Council's March 2026 committee report. The council says a detailed application would need to demonstrate green-data-centre credentials for treatment as a National Development under NPF4's Digital Fibre Network category. The live case is only a consultation notice marked Consultation Approved; no development permission is established. Track the next detailed application and its environmental and design evidence.

Evidence + inference96% confidence

Re-inspected the current dossier, researched the official consultation and March 2026 committee-report documents, and checked the live council portal. The 200 MW proposal and the site's Green Belt and special-landscape context make this a useful national-project entry, while the portal confirms only consultation approval. Keep it watching because a separate detailed application or development consent is not established. Next action: check for a linked or newly filed detailed planning application and review its environmental and design submissions.

Summary
agent inference
Claims
source bound synthesis
Applications
official records
1linked applications
1council areas
1source-backed links
0inferred links
29 Sept 2026latest update
Councils
City of Edinburgh1
Open evidence dossier1 records shown · 4 sources

Update timeline

No dated update timeline was returned.

Linked applications

City of Edinburgh25/03978/PAN
AI data centre campus with a 200MW demand utility capacity with car parking, landscaping, roads, access and associated works.

Land 300 Metres North Of 50 Research Avenue North Riccarton Currie

Source register

  • Evidence + inferenceThe current council record describes a proposed AI data-centre campus with 200 MW demand utility capacity at land north of 50 Research Avenue North, Riccarton.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceEdinburgh Council's 25 March 2026 committee report describes a 24-hectare agricultural field in the Green Belt and Gogar Special Landscape Area.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceThe committee report says the applicant would need to demonstrate green-data-centre credentials for the scheme to be considered a National Development under NPF4's Digital Fibre Network category.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceThe live portal record remains a Proposal of Application Notice marked Consultation Approved, with a decision issued on 22 August 2025; it does not establish permission for the campus.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
04
Development88/100 priorityactivecurrent sourcesapproved

Ayre Offshore Wind Farm Bower transmission works

Highland Council's 25/02964/PIP decision notice dated 30 March 2026 grants planning permission in principle for the onshore transmission infrastructure named for Ayre Offshore Wind Farm at Bower. The scope includes a cable landfall, substation, cable circuits and associated works. Specified matters need approval before each development stage begins; the inspected record does not establish later detailed approvals or construction.

Evidence + inference98% confidence

Research performed this turn: refreshed the Highland application dossier and retrieved the official decision notice, which confirms the permission-in-principle grant and staged detail approvals. Next action: refresh this same key when Highland receives the required detailed submissions or records work beginning.

Summary
agent inference
Claims
source bound synthesis
Applications
official records
1linked applications
1council areas
1source-backed links
0inferred links
28 Sept 2026latest update
Councils
Highland1
Open evidence dossier1 records shown · 3 sources

Update timeline

No dated update timeline was returned.

Linked applications

Highland25/02964/PIP
Ayre Offshore Wind Farm - construction of onshore transmission infrastructure comprising cable landfall, substation, cable circuits, temporary construction areas, access, drainage, landscaping and associated infrastructure

Land 1500M East Of Old Free Church Manse Bower

Source register

  • Evidence + inferenceHighland Council's official decision notice for 25/02964/PIP, dated 30 March 2026, grants planning permission in principle for Ayre Offshore Wind Farm onshore transmission infrastructure at Bower.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceThe application description lists a cable landfall, substation, cable circuits, temporary construction areas, access, drainage, landscaping and associated infrastructure.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceThe decision notice says specified matters require approval before development begins within each stage; later approvals and construction are not established by the inspected record.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
05
Development82/100 priorityactivecurrent sourcesapproved

Novar Wind Farm repowering

Highland Council's 2025 Proposal of Application Notice describes repowering Novar Wind Farm by decommissioning 34 existing turbines (up to 60m at blade tip) and operating a 50-year scheme of up to 10 turbines reaching up to 180m, with associated infrastructure. The notice is marked Case CLOSED. This record does not establish a later full application, planning consent, final design or construction status.

Evidence + inference92% confidence

The verified record supports a substantial renewable-energy repowering proposal and the closed status of its notice. It does not establish a later full application, planning consent, final layout or construction. Keep watching; next action is to verify any later official application or decision from a current source record and update this same project key.

Summary
agent inference
Claims
source bound synthesis
Applications
official records
1linked applications
1council areas
1source-backed links
0inferred links
28 Sept 2026latest update
Councils
Highland1
Open evidence dossier1 records shown · 2 sources

Update timeline

No dated update timeline was returned.

Linked applications

Highland25/02111/PAN
Proposal of Application Notice for Novar Wind Farm repowering - Decommissioning of the existing 34 turbines with a maximum blade tip height of 60m, erection and operation of a wind farm for a period of 50 years, comprising up to 10 turbines with a maximum blade tip height of up to 180m , control building, substation, access tracks, borrow pits, underground cabling, construction compounds, laydown areas, meteorological mast and ancillary infrastructure

Novar Wind Farm Novar Estate Evanton

Source register

  • Evidence + inferenceHighland Council's application summary describes 25/02111/PAN as a Proposal of Application Notice for repowering Novar Wind Farm at Novar Estate, Evanton, and labels the notice Case CLOSED.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceThe proposal description says it would decommission 34 existing turbines with maximum blade-tip height of 60m and operate a 50-year wind farm with up to 10 turbines of up to 180m tip height, plus associated infrastructure.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
06
Development76/100 priorityactivecurrent sourcesapproved

Shawfair community campus

Midlothian's proposal for a community campus at Shawfair Site D remains Awaiting decision. It includes early-years, support-needs, primary and secondary education with a library, gymnasium, games hall and playing fields for shared community use. An official 17 September 2026 post-submission form describes a further response to flooding comments from SEPA and a council officer, saying an updated flood risk assessment captures points raised by consultees. The flood findings and any consultee conclusion remain unverified.

Evidence + inference90% confidence

An official 17 September filing describes a further response to flooding comments from SEPA and a council officer, with an updated flood assessment said to capture points raised by consultees. The returned official passages do not include the assessment findings or any consultee conclusion. A readable copy of the full assessment or an official SEPA/council response would establish whether those findings can be added.

Summary
agent inference
Claims
source bound synthesis
Applications
official records
1linked applications
1council areas
1source-backed links
0inferred links
29 Sept 2026latest update
Councils
Midlothian1
Open evidence dossier1 records shown · 4 sources

Update timeline

No dated update timeline was returned.

Linked applications

Midlothian26/00225/DPP
Erection of community campus (Class 10) (Including early years, support needs, primary and secondary school) with shared community use (Class 11) (comprising library, gymnasium, games hall and playing fields) with associated landscaping and external play areas, footpaths, carparking and sustainable urban drainage

Shawfair Site D Newton Danderhall

Source register

  • Evidence + inferenceThe current application dossier and official Midlothian application page identify 26/00225/DPP as the proposed Shawfair community campus; the page displayed status Awaiting decision when inspected on 29 September 2026.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceThe proposal description covers early-years, support-needs, primary and secondary schools with shared community use including a library, gymnasium, games hall and playing fields.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceThe official post-submission form dated 17 September 2026 describes a further response to a flooding consultation involving SEPA and a council officer, with an updated flood risk assessment said to capture points raised in the consultee response.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
  • Evidence + inferenceThe official-source passages returned in this sweep do not include the assessment findings or the underlying consultee response, so no flood finding or consultee conclusion is established.CityScope synthesisChecked Date not reported
CityScope evidence standard

Evidence identifies a direct source relationship. Inference is a CityScope interpretation awaiting or supplementing primary confirmation.

Explore all planning applications